• Swansea Uni Athletics&XC

Reflection, awards & a new committee at the 2020 AGM

Last Year's Committee 2019-20

Swansea University Athletics & Cross Country Club had it's annual AGM on Monday 5th May where they reflected on the year's performance and success, gave out their annual awards and selected the new committee. The meeting began by Nathan Phillips (Club Captain) and Bradley Tenuta (Track and Field Captain) giving an overview of the club success this year which included 7 new club records, best BUCS team performances in 3 years and the official announcement that the club broke out from the chains of its historic debt.

Speaking of the success, Nathan said, "It has been a fantastic year for us. Both the committee and the athletes have worked hard all year to give their best and help improve the club which we have done immeasurably well. We built a relationship with Welsh Athletics, we gained three new sponsors, we set up stronger links for coaching and S&C and we managed to all of this and get out of debt!"

This was followed by a celebration of individual athlete's achievements and success, as voted by the whole club. You can see the full list below: Most Improved – Max Heavens

BUCS XC Performance – Conor Smith

BUCS Indoor Performance Track – Max Heavens

BUCS Indoor Performance Field – Fynley Caudrey

Virtual Varsity Performance – Emily Weaver!

Keen Bean Award – Mitchell Lawrence

Socialite of the Year – Astrid Ware

Club Cheer Award – Lauryn Davey

Getting them Gains Award – Daydd Herdman

Groupmance of the Year – The Wolfpack

Freshest Fresher of the Year – Mitchell Lawrence

Club Person of the Year – Nathan Phillips.

Men’s Sport Personality – William Ralston

Female Sports Personality – Abigayle Godrick-Latham

Finally, the AGM concluded with the committee candidate speeches and the new committee for 2020-21 were elected. Leading the committee this year is former Club Secretary, Jack Houghton. He has been a successful 400m hurdler for the University and local Swansea Harriers Club. As a veteran committee member, he has strong experience leading a young and fresh committee. He will be first supported by Yusuf Hussein as Club Secretary who has been a dedicated club athlete and is always able to share some wise words of motivation. He has also regularly attended BUCS and South West Varsity competitions throughout his years in the club.

New Club Captain, Jack Houghton

The BUCS teams will be captained by Elin James (Track & Field Captain) and Chris Booth (Cross Country Captain). Elin has a long history in the sport, competing for her home club Neath Harriers. She has been committed to training and regularly competes. On the grass, Chris has trained closely with former XC Captain, Conor Smith and has learnt a lot over the past year. He is eager to continue the strong work that Conor has done this year with the team and bring home the Gwent League trophy again next year. Taking charge of the club's social activities is club veteran Charlie Hatfield and, Socialite of the Year, Astrid Ware as Social Secretaries. Both have a wealth of fun ideas to keep our club members entertained and good spirits during those hard winter months of training. Behind the camera and raising club and charity funds will be Max Heavens as Media & Fundraising Officer. Max formerly made COD play-through videos but has since swapped to studying law. So he'll combine these skills to provide killer social media coverage across the 2020-21 season. He also recently broke the club record for the 60m and as been an active member of the club for the past three years, taking part in charity events and is often seen slapped across our social media.

Last but certainly not least, Alfred Yabsley was elected as the new Alumni Officer. He will be keeping the club up to date with what the club's alumni get up to post-uni. He will also be in charge of organising one of the biggest events of the social calendar which brings our alumni together with our new and current athletes for a day of sport and celebrating the club we love.

You can find out more information on the new committee here.

64 views1 comment